Wedding Etiquette, Young MC Style

I spent roughly five hours today working out of a coffee shop. A practice that always makes me feel a smidge guilty.  Was the $10.80 I spent on one discounted latte, one iced tea, and one (enormous and quite good) sandwich really worth five hours of their WiFi, electricity, heat, and bathroom facilities?  It’s not as though I was actively occupying a table for which others were clamoring.  And yet, despite how the practice aided my productivity (and that I liked the ambiance, the coffee, and the aforementioned sandwich), I will be going to another place tomorrow, lest I be recognized and frowned upon.

I may have issues.

Well, I can at least give these fine folks a shout out. Chicago residents, you can (occasionally) find me and can always find good drinks and eats at Corona’s Coffee Shop, right near the Sheridan Red Line.

In other news, this coffee shop’s radio station of choice favored 80s and 90s cuts.  I heard both Michael and Whitney. “Breakfast at Tiffany’s.”  Multiple slow jams from (the band) Chicago. More than one REO Speedwagon. And, oddly enough, Young MC’s “Bust a Move.”  Which reminded me of this ancient (September 2004) post from my old blog that I thought I’d recycle here (in parts) …

One of the many lines in popular music that has always perplexed me is the following:

“Your best friend Harry, has a brother Larry, in five days from now he’s gonna marry. He’s hoping you can make it there if you can, ’cause in the ceremony you’ll be the best man.” -“Bust a Move,” Young MC

One of two things is happening here, linguistically. Either:

A) “Has a brother Larry” is meant to be parenthetical. Just a bit of trivia tossed in within the confines of a sentence about Harry. And thus, the groom is indeed Harry. Which is only a *little* odd because shouldn’t Harry’s brother be best man instead of Young MC’s addressed subject? Maybe not, if the groom had multiple brothers or didn’t really like Larry or … well, there are any number of possibilities.

B) Per traditional sentence structure and agreement, Larry is the groom in question. And the subject of the verse has indeed been asked to be best man. Which is even more bizarre.

Additionally, as my friend Annie pointed out, what is with the loosey-goosey planning of this shindig?  The groom (whether it’s Harry or Larry) is “hoping” the would-be best man can make it there “if [he] can?”  The wedding is in five damned days?!  Is there another groomsman waiting in reserve with a backup toast?  Why can’t people commit?

And don’t get me started that this song came out in the late 80s and it was only “5 bucks” to see a movie. No wonder he couldn’t care less about blowing it.

2 thoughts on “Wedding Etiquette, Young MC Style

  1. Pingback: Awkwardness at the Movies (In Which It’s Probably Hugh Grant’s Fault) « Neurotic City

  2. Pingback: DJ Jazzy Beth (In Which I Effectively Spit Rhyme) « Neurotic City

Leave a Reply

