Five Reasons Why I Can’t Wait for Fall

Oh, hi. A very busy summer (that was free from major travel and still flew by in a haze) is about to make way for the crisp temps and colorful leaves of fall, and before you know it, we’ll be complaining about snow and longing for the time where you couldn’t spend three seconds outside without pouring sweat glistening. To remind myself of why all seasons are great (and I’d therefore never want to live in Southern California), here’s a list of what I’m anxiously awaiting to enjoy once the temperature drops.

Running in the chilly temps. So I’m not an avid runner, but I especially hate running when it’s hot. And that includes in an “air-conditioned” gym.  Perfect for me is somewhere between 38 and 48 degrees.  Running pants, long-sleeved tee over a tank, cotton gloves and a stocking cap, and I am super comfortable.  Aside from the fact that I’m attempting to run.

Cold-Weather RunningFull-bodied reds. In the summertime, I love the light Pinot Gris-es (how does one pluralize that?), the Vinho Verde, yes, even some pink bubbles from time to time. South-American reds are just too heavy to sit around and sip, especially if you’re outdoors. Bring on the chilly temperatures, bring out the deep, earthy reds. But I still have a little time to finish out my chilled whites.

Red wine pouring

Crock-Pot cookin’. I’m not sure why this appliance gets grounded from May until September in my home, but it does. During winter months, however, it’s in heavy rotation as I whip up soups, chilis, sauces, broths, and once in a great while an entire chicken. And yes, if the recipe doesn’t call for slow cooking, I improvise anyway.

It’s all about flavor-melding.

Now that I work from home again, I plan on subsisting on soups for most of my lunches until early May.

The art of watching football. I’m a baseball girl by breeding, and I have failed to learn all of the rules behind (American) football. The flags-on-the-play annoy me, as does the fact that NFL players who play for at least four years have an average life expectancy of 55 (okay, maybe “annoys” is a bit weak there). Still, the act of watching a Saints game at home while the aforementioned Crock-Pot percolates or heading out to a fun sports bar in my Drew Brees jersey for a bloody Mary and some camaraderie is distinctly fall and always fun.

Watching the Saints game

Boots. My snow boots are plain but solid, reliable, and have been around since late 2008. Kind of like  Rachel Maddow (what?) Wearing them means it’s snowing outside, which I don’t love, but I do love my leather black or brown boots, suitable for wearing with jeans or along with dresses and tights. First, however, I need to find where I’ve stored them…

Riding Boots

Of course, there is still Labor Day weekend, the unpredictable weather of September and early October complete with the occasional 95-degree day, and perhaps one more needed pedicure.

And before you know it, we’ll all be stressed out about our holiday shopping.

If you live in an area that gets below 50 degrees, what’s your favorite thing about the fall?

One thought on “Five Reasons Why I Can’t Wait for Fall

Leave a Reply

