FFWDing to the Best Part: “We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful,” Morrissey (1992)

Courtesy of new (and way-smarter-than-me) guest poster! thebookslinger08

Many of those who knew me in college would be surprised by my undying adoration of Morrissey. The mid-90s saw me chasing the image of Kurt Cobain: longer, unkempt (and often unwashed) hair, flannel shirts, and torn jeans. The image of my musical “integrity” would never allow me to embrace an artist like Morrissey with his silk shirts and perfectly quaffed ‘do.

Deep in the cockles of my heart, however, the Bard of Manchester moved me deeply. His melodic, proto-emo crooning spoke to a side of my young man’s angst I can only describe as melancholic. It was a more beautiful, refined, and poetic pain that counterbalanced the pure anger and nihilism of grunge.

A perfect song to exemplify my adoration is “We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful” from his 1992 masterpiece Your Arsenal. It’s the song that begs the question: what is the opposite of schadenfreude? It’s a great song but the best part comes at the 2:01 mark as Morrissey breaks out into a series of “las” with a snarkiness that only he can muster. It makes you feel like you’re being embraced and taunted at the same time.

One thought on “FFWDing to the Best Part: “We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful,” Morrissey (1992)

  1. The opposite of schadenfreude is envy. I love his honesty, and the songwriting jargon populating the bridge, and the sprightly, REM-like acoustic rock doesn’t hurt either. I’ll have to get me some Morrisey.

Leave a Reply

